A. E. van Vogt

Alfred Elton van Vogt (1912-2000) was a Canadian-born author regarded as one of the most popular and complex sf writers of the mid-twentieth century. His first sf publication, The Black Destroyer, was published by John W. Campbell in Astounding, July 1939. His first completed novel (and one of his most famous), Slan (1946), was serialized in Astounding September to December 1940.

Between 1939 and 1947 van Vogt published at least thirty-five sf stories in Astounding, some of novel length, and it was the work of these years that gave him his high reputation as a master of intricate, metaphysical Space Opera. Along with Isaac Asimov and Robert A. Heinlein he seemed nearly to create the first genuinely successful period of US sf; the "Golden Age".

In 1951, he published The Weapon Shops of Isher, an sf classic with strong political overtones. Between 1950 and 1960, he produced collections such as The Mixed Men (1952) and The War Against the Rull (1959), and the two "Clane" novels, Empire of the Atom (1957) and The Wizard of Linn (1962). His later novels included Moonbeast (1963), Rogue Ship (1965), Children of Tomorrow (1970) and The Anarchistic Colossus (1977); expanded short stories included The Darkness on Diamondia (1972) and Tyranopolis (1973).

The Science Fiction Writers of America named him its 14th Grand Master in 1995. In 1996, he received a Special Award from the World Science Fiction Convention "for six decades of golden age science fiction". That same year, he was also inducted into the Science Fiction and Fantasy Hall of Fame.

Source: SFE